Metabolism is the Key to Weight Loss and Health

Yesterday I mentioned that I’d write about how metabolism is the key to weight loss. As far as I know there are at least two ways to increase your metabolism. Can you guess what they are? Cardio, right? No, wrong. (Please see my link on the cardio myth that I’ll post later today.) Two ways to increase you metabolism are to build your muscle mass via “slow burn” workouts (no you won’t turn into a he-man) and to eat small amounts of food all throughout the day.

Beginning around the age of 15 for woman and age 20 for men we start to loose our muscle mass. After I learned this I was really motivated to build up my muscles so that as I aged I would have something to loose. Since I have been working out my lower back problems have disappeared. Why do old people walk at a 90 degree angle? Because they don’t have their muscles anymore to hold themselves upright. That’s very sad, I don’t want to be one of those people.

The fact is that when we stimulate our muscles and work them out to their maximum potential (once a week) our metabolism increases – and not just for that day – the effects are long lasting, even when we are asleep. This increase in our metabolism helps us to literally burn the fat off of our body for many days after we workout. And that coupled with eating the right things at the right calorie count (about 1.400 for a woman and about 1,800 for a man) will result in permanent long term weight loss and increased health! Doesn’t that sound good? It IS good and it feels good too.

Okay, so this was a really, really short post. I have a lot more things to say but I’ll leave this as it is now because I need to meet a client. I will post the link I mentioned later this afternoon. I also want to say that the claims I make in this blog are substantiated. It’s just that I have done so much reading over the past four and a half years that I forgot where I read what. So, I am going to track my facts down and cite my sources via links so that you may read longer versions of the things that I say in here. I’ll be making links to topics like the paleo way of eating, why slow burn is better than traditional working out, dairy, soy, water, the cardio myth and the cholesterol myth.

More later, I promise!

Love,

Katz

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin Vereen
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 16:28:30

    Thanks, Katz. What I’ve found most interesting here is that we have the same habit of food prep, i.e. eating pretty much the same thing for several days. What I most have to work with internally is the idea that I’m just changing the way that I eat instead of seeing any attempt at weight loss as a form of deprivation. So far so good this time. I too want to be able to be active into my true elder years!

    Reply

  2. mypitch
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 00:13:29

    Nicely done, Katz! I lost 18 pounds. I wish I had done it your way, but alas, mine was through chemotherapy. Wouldn’t recommend it! 😉
    Leslie

    Reply

  3. Karen Finch
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 03:27:08

    Katz! You rock! Thanks for starting your blog. I’m on the weight loss path, too and have been shocked at how much I get to eat when it’s real food! A book I read said we should eat 2 1/2 lbs of veggies a day. REALLY!?! Also, for readers of your blog who have trouble with insulin and balancing their blood sugar, check out Nopal Cactus. Here’s a website. http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=nopal+cactus&cid=623239611934625288&os=sellers# It really helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

